ACE-ing An Interview with Sajni Chauhan, SAC Vice Presidential Candidate

Sajni Chauhan is one of the three candidates vying for the Student Council vice presidency. Make sure you read this exclusive interview before you vote on Monday, June 5th!

If I was going to ask ten random students in the hall to describe your contributions up to this point, what do you think they would say?

“I believe that they would talk about my involvement in Theatre Graydon, as well as our Student Athletic Association. Since I was a lead character in our school musical Aladdin, being a part of Theatre Graydon allowed me to provide entertainment for many who are passionate about the arts. They are familiar with the amount of time and dedication that was put into the show. With the SAA, I believe that they would talk about my roles I had with buyouts and being a fundraising executive. This includes organizing spirit wear, and our girls’ intramurals.”

If you had to pick one leader that you admire, who would you choose and why?

“My parents. I realize that this doesn’t count as one leader but they provided me with a clear direction, displayed amazing integrity, and supported me through difficult times. I admire the hard work they have put into building the amazing childhood and life I have been given. Without a doubt, I believe my parents are the most important and influential people I will ever encounter in my existence on this earth.”

What do you think is your greatest weakness as a leader?

“I’ve discovered that a major weakness of mine is my desire to be a peacemaker. I have the tendency to be too nice which can be a major problem for a leader of a team. I have to tell people often what they need to hear, not just what they want to hear. This doesn’t come naturally to me. I’ve known for years that this is a special challenge of mine, so I give a lot of attention to my feedback style. I prepare thoroughly before delivering constructive criticism and I make sure it’s backed up with examples or research if needed. Sometimes I even practice out loud how I want to say it, so I can speak with more confidence.”

What do you think is the greatest strength of the current Student Activity Council, and how would you improve it next year?

“I would say the greatest strength in SAC is their ability to work with many different people. They enjoy learning from everyone they meet. They have developed strong relationships at Graydon, and their ability to communicate with people interested me to apply for this position. Their job requires a lot of teamwork, and I believe my communication and interpersonal skills will allow me to complete this work successfully. I would improve this next year throughout multiple school discussions and allowing everyone to pitch in their ideas via social media.”

What is something unique that you have planned to improve the participation of the student body in the Student Activity Council?

“The main focus I have is to improve team building. Team building allows students to work together in social situations just as they would in the classroom, their daily lives, or down the road in the workplace. Team building challenges allows students to problem solve and execute working with others. It shows them how to be accountable which is a great lesson for high school students to learn. This includes cultural nights, play days, and monthly assemblies involving our student body.”

Why did you use the expression “Act Together, Create Opportunities, and Expand Knowledge,” in your social media and posters?

“Our goal is to ace next year, and this is connected with students as everyone wants to ace every test in school. I wanted to bring the same mentality to our student council, we can do this by acting together, creating opportunities, which eventually leads to expanding our knowledge.”

What events do you propose to bring students together and unite the student body in the last year at Graydon?

“Like before, I would introduce cultural nights, play days, more connections with non -profit organizations, more school wide field trips and finally trade show for all grades.”

How would you have tackled the issue of Spring Sizzle being cancelled?

“I would ask the students and have them vote on what school wide activity they would like to have. This would probably include talent show, a school wide knowledge competition, or a specific trip.”

What would you do differently from the current Student Activity Council?

“Mehwish is a really hardworking and dedicated individual, and I will ensure that all of SAC contributes the same way she did. I’ll put my one-hundred-percent towards SAC and make sure of the students’ needs are before mine. Something I would change is the communication between SAC and the student body, this allows students have more say in what they want as it is their last year.”

Leave a Reply

